West African Economic Community
= see Economic Community of Western African States (ECOWAS). This organization has acted on behalf of member countries to establish freedom of movement and freedom of trade in the region since 1973. The members of WAEC are Cote d'Ivoire, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, and Senegal. The activities of WAEC include one of the first common customs systems between all members, along with a standardized tax on commodities. WAEC is also largely responsible for establishing freedom of movement of citizens of member countries throughout the Western African Economic Community. Although the importance of WAEC has been supplanted by the newer and larger Economic Community of Western African States (ECOWAS), its importance as a pioneer in freedom of international trade and movement of member citizens still stands.
19. Okt 2003
8. Mai 2013